2nd European Health Students’ Association Summit

The representatives of the European Healthcare Students’ Association (EHSA), European Dental Students’ Association (EDSA), European Federation of Psychology Students’ Associations (EFPSA), European Medical Students’ Association 12711113_10206098885012713_813465562865989557_o.jpg (376x240, 375x240)(EMSA), European Pharmaceutical Students’ Association (EPSA), representing together more than 675.000 European students, met for the second European Healthcare Students’ Associations Summit (EHSAS) at CPME office in Brussels, Belgium between 12-14 February 2016.

The idea for the EHSAS started in 2014 with the main objective of bringing together healthcare students from across Europe to work collectively on improving the quality of education that is offered to students. This began with a focus on the importance of interprofessional collaboration in order to ensure patients’ safety and continuity of care from all healthcare providers.

During the summit, healthcare students’ associations identified key issues of interprofessional collaboration and multidisciplinary approaches between healthcare professionals throughout their education. Two policy papers have been drafted and a plan has been created to have the final version adopted and published before the next year’s summit. Additionally, the Summit was used as a platform to recognise the possible collaborations on advocacy and educational activities and a Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) has been created between all of the organisations. This Summit presents a milestone in the development of interprofessional collaboration in the healthcare sector and we are all looking forward to continuing our collaboration further in our joint projects.


Present Participants:

  • EDSA: Diana Beatrix Velicu (Vice President), Mohamed Hattab (European Visiting Programme Officer)
  • EFPSA: Ana Odabašić (President), Jayne Hamilton (Vice President), Alexander Gruhn (External Relations Officer)
  • EMSA: Jannis Papazoglou (President), Aphrodite Adamidou (European Institutions Liaison Officer), Abhiyaan Kapoor Malhotra (Trainings Assistant)
  • EPSA: Maja Šerčić (Vice President of External Affairs), Adéla Firlová (Vice President of Education), Ana Marcelino (Grant Coordinator), Suvi Sivula (Partnership Coordinator), Jan de Belie (representative of Belgian member association)



EDSA Diana Beatrix Velicu
EFPSA Ana Odabšsić
EMSA Jannis Papazoglou
EPSA Maja Sercic,